• image description
  • image description
  • image description
  • image description
  • image description

The “Florida Minimum Wage Act” determines the state minimum wage, currently set at $8.46 per hour.

[2021 Update]  Effective Jan 1, 2021 – Florida labor laws were updated to a minimum wage of $8.56 to $8.65, a maximum tip credit of $3.02 and a minimum compensation for tipped employees of $5.63.

However, this will not be the only minimum wage increase for 2021. In November, Florida voters passed a Constitutional Amendment which will gradually raise the minimum wage to $15.00 per hour by 2026. Specifically, the state minimum wage will increase each September as follows:

$10.00 on September 30, 2021;
$11.00 on September 30, 2022;
$12.00 on September 30, 2023;
$13.00 on September 30, 2024;
$14.00 on September 30, 2025; and
$15.00 on September 30, 2026.

On September 30 of each year after 2026, Florida’s minimum wage will again be subject to annual increases based upon the percentage increase in the federal “Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region.”

Learn more about Florida minimum wage law in this presentation.