[2022 Update] Effective Sep 30, 2022 – Florida labor laws were updated to a minimum wage of $8.65 to $11 per hour, and a maximum tip credit of $3.02.
However, this will not be the only minimum wage increase for 2022. Recently, Florida voters passed a Constitutional Amendment which will gradually raise the minimum wage to $15.00 per hour by 2026. Specifically, the state minimum wage will increase each September as follows:
|September 30, 2022||$11.00|
|September 30, 2023||$12.00|
|September 30, 2024||$13.00|
|September 30, 2025||$14.00|
|September 30, 2026||$15.00|
On September 30 of each year after 2026, Florida’s minimum wage will again be subject to annual increases based upon the percentage increase in the federal “Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region.”
If you are paid less than minimum wage for work performed, you may have a wage-and-hour claim and an attorney can help you to recover the money that you should have been paid as well as additional penalties and damages.
Learn more about The Florida Minimum Wage in this presentation.