When you work in the state of Florida, your employer has certain obligations to you. One of those obligations is to pay you a minimum amount of money for each hour that you worked. Virtually every employee in the state is guaranteed to make minimum wage. This includes part-time or temporary employees as well as teen workers.
It is important that you know what the state minimum wage is and that you know the rules for receiving payments for the work you do. If you believe your employer is paying you less than the minimum wage or is not paying you for all of the work you performed, you may be able to take legal action to obtain the money you are owed as well as additional damages. An experienced Florida wage and hour lawyer at Richard Celler Legal, P.A. can assist you in taking action against an employer who fails to pay as required.
The Florida Minimum Wage
In the state of Florida, the minimum wage is $11.00 per hour. This minimum wage became effective on September 30, 2022. The minimum wage in the state is recalculated annually based on the Consumer Price Index so you should check what the new minimum wage is each year in order to ensure that your employer gives you a raise when it updates.
The Florida minimum wage of $11 per hour is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Because the required minimum state wages are higher, Florida employers have to comply with state law.
Your employer has to pay you for all of the time that you work, and if he fails to do so then this can constitute wage theft. For example, if you are required to do preliminary tasks like getting the cash register ready for your shift, your employer cannot require you to do this work before you have clocked in for the day. If you are doing work tasks, you should be on-the-clock.
Florida Minimum Wage Increase Scale
|September 30, 2022||$11.00|
|September 30, 2023||$12.00|
|September 30, 2024||$13.00|
|September 30, 2025||$14.00|
|September 30, 2026||$15.00|
Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees
If you are a tipped employee, then the rules are different for you. Because you are expected to earn income as a result of your tips, a lower minimum wage applies. The tipped minimum wage as of 2022 is $7.98 per hour.
Tipped employees still must make at least $11 per hour. This means if you do not earn enough tips to make up the difference between the $7.98 and the $11, your employer must pay you more money so you earn at least the minimum.
Getting Legal Help
You deserve to be paid an honest wage for an honest day’s work. If your employer fails to pay you the minimum wage, contact Richard Celler Legal, P.A. as soon as possible for help getting the money you are entitled to.