The minimum wage an employer is required to pay is even regulated by federal and/or state law for most employees. If your employer is paying you less than what the law requires, you may be entitled to pursue a wage claim against your employer.
[2018 Update] Effective Jan 1, 2021 – Florida labor laws were updated to a minimum wage of $8.56 to $8.65, a maximum tip credit of $3.02 and a minimum compensation for tipped employees of $5.44
However, this will not be the only minimum wage increase for 2021. In November, Florida voters passed a Constitutional Amendment which will gradually raise the minimum wage to $15.00 per hour by 2026. Specifically, the state minimum wage will increase each September as follows:
$10.00 on September 30, 2021;
$11.00 on September 30, 2022;
$12.00 on September 30, 2023;
$13.00 on September 30, 2024;
$14.00 on September 30, 2025; and
$15.00 on September 30, 2026.
On September 30 of each year after 2026, Florida’s minimum wage will again be subject to annual increases based upon the percentage increase in the federal “Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region.”
Topics covered in this report include:
- What Is the Current Minimum Wage?
- Who Is Covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act?
- If I Am Not a Covered Employee Am I Still Subject to the Minimum Wage Laws?
- Can An Employer Ever Legally Pay Less Than Minimum Wage
- Executive, Administrative, Professional and Outside Sales Employees