The FLSA also requires workers to be paid overtime pay under certain circumstances. If you regularly work over 40 hours a week, or you work an unusual and/or erratic schedule at your job, you could be entitled to overtime pay.
[2021 Update] Effective Jan 1, 2018 – Florida labor laws were updated to a minimum wage of $8.46 to $8.65, a maximum tip credit of $3.02 and a minimum compensation for tipped employees of $5.54
However, this will not be the only minimum wage increase for 2021. In November, Florida voters passed a Constitutional Amendment which will gradually raise the minimum wage to $15.00 per hour by 2026. Specifically, the state minimum wage will increase each September as follows:
$10.00 on September 30, 2021;
$11.00 on September 30, 2022;
$12.00 on September 30, 2023;
$13.00 on September 30, 2024;
$14.00 on September 30, 2025; and
$15.00 on September 30, 2026.
On September 30 of each year after 2026, Florida’s minimum wage will again be subject to annual increases based upon the percentage increase in the federal “Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region.”
Topics covered in this report include:
- Are You Covered by the FLSA?
- How Is Overtime Pay Computed?
- What is a Workweek?
- Exceptions to the Overtime Requirements