[2021 Update] Effective Jan 1, 2021 – Florida labor laws were updated to a minimum wage of $8.56 is increased to $8.65 per hour, Florida employers, meanwhile, may still continue to take a tip credit of up to $3.02 per hour for those classified as tipped employees..
However, this will not be the only minimum wage increase for 2021. In November, Florida voters passed a Constitutional Amendment which will gradually raise the minimum wage to $15.00 per hour by 2026. Specifically, the state minimum wage will increase each September as follows:
$10.00 on September 30, 2021;
$11.00 on September 30, 2022;
$12.00 on September 30, 2023;
$13.00 on September 30, 2024;
$14.00 on September 30, 2025; and
$15.00 on September 30, 2026.
On September 30 of each year after 2026, Florida’s minimum wage will again be subject to annual increases based upon the percentage increase in the federal “Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region.”
Minimum wage laws exist on the federal and the state level. Every employer is required to pay at least minimum wage to very employee. Learn more about Florida minimum wage in this presentation.